Past Presidents

We are indebted to the vision, sacrifices and hard work of the presidents who served what is now, Clark Atlanta University (CAU).

From our founding institutions of Atlanta University (1865) and Clark College (1869) to the 1988 historic consolidation that formed CAU, we honor this legacy of leadership:


Thomas W. Cole, Jr.
1988 - 2002


Walter D. Broadnax
2002 - 2008


Carlton E. Brown
2008- 2015


Ronald A. Johnson
2015 -2018


Lucille H. Maugé
2018- 2019

See the Portraits of CAU Presidents on the third floor of Harkness Hall

Clark Atlanta University continues to build on the legacy of its rich history. Here’s a look at previous leaders of our illustrious parent institutions, Atlanta University (1865) and Clark College (1869).

Atlanta University

1869-1885:      Edmund A. Ware
1885-1886:      Thomas S. Chase (Acting)
1886-1887:      Horace Bumstead (Acting)
1887-1888:     Cyrus W. Vance (Acting)
1888-1907:      Horace Bumstead
1907-1922:      Edward T. Ware
1922-1923:      Myron W. Adams (Acting)
1923-1929:      Myron W. Adams
1929-1936:      John Hope
1936-1937       Florence M. Read (Acting)
1937-1967:      Rufus E. Clement
1968-1969:      Thomas D. Jarrett (Acting)
1969-1977:      Thomas D. Jarrett
1977-1983:       Cleveland L. Dennard
1983-1984:      Kofi B. Bota (Acting)
1984-1987:      Luther S. Williams
1987-1988:      Dorcas D. Bowles (Acting)
1988-1989:     Thomas W. Cole, Jr.

Clark College

1869-1870:      D.W. Hammond
1870-1871:      Uriah Cleary
1871-1872:       I. Marcy
1876-1877:      J.B. Martin
1877-1881:      R.E. Bisbee
1881-1890:      E.D. Thayer
1890-1893:     William H. Hickman
1893-1896:      David C. John
1896-1897:      Wilbur P. Thirkfield (Acting)
1897-1903:      Charles M. Melden
1903-1910:      William H. Crogman
1910-1912:       G.E. Idleman
1912-1915:       William W. Foster
1915-1923:       Harry A. King
1923-1924:      John W. Simmons
1924-1940:      Matthew S. Davage
1940-1941:      James P. Brawley (Acting)
1941-1965:       James P. Brawley
1965-1976:      Vivian H. Henderson
1976-1977:      Charles Knight (Acting)
1977-1987:      Elias Blake, Jr.
1987-1988:      Winifred Harris (Acting)
1988-1989:     Thomas W. Cole, Jr.


More CAU History

Office of the President

Harkness Hall,
President’s Suite
Clark Atlanta University
James P. Brawley Drive, S.W.
Atlanta, GA 30314
Phone: (404)-880-8500