Skip To Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip To Footer

Public Administration


The Public Administration Department was founded in 1975. The program has evolved from a general Master of Public Administration degree to a curriculum that offers five areas of specialization. The Department is accredited by the Network of Schools of Public Public Policy, Affairs and Administration (NASPAA).

The curriculum conforms to the accreditation standards adopted by the NASPAA, which require MPA programs to establish a common core curriculum that all pre-service students must complete. Currently, the Department offers five areas of specialization in:

  •  Community and Economic Development
  •  Human Resources Management
  •  Internal Administration and Development Management
  •  Public Policy
  •  Urban Administration


The mission of the Public Administration Department is to educate our students in the areas of public administration, offer training in specialized areas that build on the basics of public administration, and enhance the professional development of students through on-going linkages with public organizations at the federal, state, local, and international levels. The program seeks to develop the students' ability to think critically, to acquire analytical skills, and to conceptualize at a high level.


Department of Public Administration
Henry Elonge, Ph.D., Interim Chair,
McPheeters-Dennis, Room 280