What are you looking for?


Research Centers

Home Research Centers
Department of Physics
223 James P. Brawley, S.W.
McPheeters-Dennis Hall, Room 102
Atlanta, GA 30314
Phone: (404) 880-8797

The Department of Physics at Clark Atlanta University provides students with the ability to pursue research interests in a number of fields under the guidance of individual faculty members. These fields include:

  1. theoretical studies in mathematical physics
  2. computational physics
  3. scattering theory
  4. solid-state theory and experiment

In addition, the department hosts three Research Centers:

The Center for Theoretical Studies of Physical Systems (CTSPS)

This center is directed by Alfred Z. Msezane, Ph.D. Strengths of this center include low-energy scattering theory, solid-state theory, image processing and mathematical physics theory.

The Earth System Science Program (ESSP)

This center is directed by Randal L. N. Mandock, Ph.D. Strengths of this center include experimental atmospheric science, atmospheric turbulence structure in the surface boundary layer, and atmospheric modeling.

Center of Excellence in Microelectronics and Photonics (CEMP)

This center is directed by Michael D. Williams, Ph.D. Strengths of this center are the experimental study of semiconductor surfaces using techniques of Secondary Ion Mass Spectroscopy (SIMS) and other high-vacuum scattering probes.