What are you looking for?


Forrest Watkins Jr.

Home Music Faculty Forrest Watkins Jr.

forrest watkins

Forrest L. Watkins, Jr. D.M.A., Director of University Bands

A native of Atlanta, Georgia, Dr. Watkins served as Director of Bands at various metropolitan Atlanta public school districts for more than 20 years, prior to his appointment as Clark Atlanta University Director of Bands. These school districts include DeKalb Schools System, Atlanta Public Schools, and Gwinnett County Public Schools. During Dr. Watkins' public school tenure, his band students were selected to perform with Georgia All-State Bands  and District Honors Bands, annually. His bands also performed for the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, several times. In addition, Dr. Watkins' band students performed with several local music ensembles, including Atlanta Community Symphony Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra, Atlanta Youth Wind Symphony, DeKalb Youth Symphony Orchestra, Georgia Perimeter College Wind Ensemble, and Gwinnett Symphony Youth Orchestra.

In addition to his his career as a music educator, Dr. Watkins is a professional French hornist. He has performed solo works of Mozart, Haydn, Hindemith, R. Strauss, F. Strauss, Beethoven, Telemann, Danzi, Schumann, Dukas, Saint-Saens, Bozza, Poulenc, etc.; chamber works of Brahms, Mozart, Telemann, Nielsen, Schumann, Copland, Frackenpohl, Wilder, etc.; orchestral works of the Baroque, Renaissance, Classical, Romantic, and 20-Century music eras; two musicals and two motion picture sound tracks.

Dr. Watkins holds the Bachelor of Arts degree, in Music Education, from Clark Atlanta University; the Masters of Music degree, in Orchestral Instrumental Performance - French horn, from Georgia State University; the Educational Specialist degree, in Instructional Leadership, from Argosy University; and the Doctor of Musical Arts degree, in Music Education, from Boston University. His most influential educators/mentors include Dr. Alfred Wyatt, Sr., Mr David Byrd, Professors Mark Boozer and James Patterson, Dr. Tom Wubbenhorst, Mr. Brice Andrus, Mr. Donald Strand, Dr. William McManus, and Dr. Jay Dorfman.