What are you looking for?


Ernest Green

Home Ernest Green

greenErnest G. Green  
Washington, D.C.
Joined the Board in 1999

Ernest G. Green most recently served as partner of Matrix Advisors, and managing director of public finance for Lehman Brothers (now Barclays Capital) in Washington D.C. In 1957, Green and eight other African-American students, later known as the "Little Rock Nine," were the first to integrate Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas, following the 1954 U.S. Supreme Court Brown v. Board of Education decision that declared segregation illegal. Several books, movies, and documentaries have chronicled Mr. Green and his eight classmates’ experience during their historic year at Central High School. On November 9, 1999, the “Little Rock Nine,” were presented with the nation’s highest civilian honor, the “Congressional Gold Medal” by President Bill Clinton. Mr. Green subsequently earned his high school diploma from Central High School.

Mr. Green has served as U.S. Assistant Secretary of Labor for Employment and Training during the administration of President Jimmy Carter and chairman of the African Development Foundation upon appointment by President Bill Clinton. Upon appointment by former U.S. Secretary of Education Richard W. Riley, he also served as chairman of the Historically Black Colleges and Universities Capital Financing Advisory Board. Mr. Green serves on the boards of Fisk University; National Association of Securities Professionals (NASP), where he served as chairman for two consecutive years; Quality Education of Minorities (QEM) Council; United States Conference of Mayors; Action International, and Boy Scouts of America. He is a member of Sigma Pi Phi and Omega Psi Phi Fraternities.

An alumnus of Michigan State University, he is the recipient of the Bachelor of Science degree in social science and the Master of Science degree in sociology. The recipient of countless awards and recognitions during his lifetime, Mr. Green has been awarded honorary doctorate degrees from the University of Arkansas (2012), Spelman College, Central State University, and Tugaloo College.