Department of Physics
McPheeters-Dennis Hall, Room 102
(404) 880-8797

Welcome | Contact | Undergraduate | Graduate | Course Descriptions | Research Centers|

Research Centers

The Department of Physics at Clark Atlanta University provides students with the ability to pursue research interests in a number of fields under the guidance of individual faculty members. These fields include theoretical studies in mathematical physics, computational physics, scattering theory, and solid-state theory and experiment. In addition, the Department hosts three Research Centers, described below.

The Center for Theoretical Studies of Physical Systems (CTSPS)

This Center is directed by Dr. Alfred Z. Msezane. Strengths of this Center include low-energy scattering theory, solid-state theory, image processing, and mathematical physics theory.

The Earth System Science Program (ESSP)

This Center is directed by Dr. Randal L. N. Mandock. Strengths of this Center include experimental atmospheric science, atmospheric turbulence structure in the surface boundary layer, and atmospheric modeling.

Center of Excellence in Microelectronics and Photonics (CEMP)

This Center is directed by Dr. Michael D. Williams. Strengths of this Center are the experimental study of semiconductor surfaces using techniques of Secondary Ion Mass Spectroscopy (SIMS) and other high-vacuum scattering probes.

Copyright - Clark Atlanta University
223 James P. Brawley Drive, S.W.--Atlanta, GA 30314--(404)880-8000