Clark Atlanta University Learn Lead Change

News And Press

DirectoryGive to CAUPanther Login

75 Clark Atlanta University (CAU) Administrators, Faculty and Students Inducted into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

  • Description:
  • Date: 6/13/2013
  • Author: Larry Calhoun
  • Origin:Clark Atlanta University

ATLANTA (June 13, 2013)– Seventy-five Clark Atlanta University (CAU) administrators, faculty and students were recently inducted into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society.  CAU is the first private historically black college or university (HBCU) to be granted a chapter.  

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi has chapters on more than 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines.  Since its founding, Phi Kappa Phi has initiated more than one million members and has become a global network.  Its mission is to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage its community of scholars in service to others.

CAU President Carlton E. Brown, one of the new inductees of Phi Kappa Phi, said, “The chartering of Phi Kappa Phi at Clark Atlanta University is the ultimate recognition of the high standard of academic excellence we implore for our students, faculty and staff.  To become the first private historically black college or university to be granted a chapter is a milestone in our university’s history and the history of the HBCU.  The university owes a special debt to our interim provost, Dr. James Hefner, who initiated and orchestrated the Phi Kappa Phi application process in a steady and steadfast manner over the last nine months. ”

The charter members of Phi Kappa Phi are: Dr. Timothy Askew, president; Dr. Bettye Clark, vice president; Dr. Stephanie Evans, secretary; Dr. Jeffrey Phillips, treasurer; Dr. James Hefner; Dr. Delores Aldridge; Dr. Marcus Shute; Dr. Alexa Henderson; Mr. Larry Calhoun; Dr. Linda Grays; Dr. Marilyn Lineberger; Dr. Ernestine Pickens-Glass; Dr. Michael Williams; Dr. Ron Mickens; Dr. Myron Williams; Dr. Tom Apaiwongse; Mr. Romeo Cababan; Ms. Annie Ruth Mapp; Dr. Aubrey Underwood; and Mr. Glen Behrend.   

For more information on Phi Kappa Phi, visit