Clark Atlanta University Learn Lead Change

News And Press

DirectoryGive to CAUPanther Login

100 Clark Atlanta University Students Inducted as Charter Members of Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society

  • Description:
  • Date: 5/9/2013
  • Author: Larry Calhoun
  • Origin:Clark Atlanta University

ATLANTA (May 9, 2013) – One-hundred Clark Atlanta University (CAU) students were recently inducted as charter members of Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society.

   Phi Eta Sigma is the first and largest honor society devoted to the achievement of the first-year college student.  Established at the University of Illinois in 1923, Phi Eta Sigma has chartered more than 365 chapters and inducted more than 975,000 members.

CAU President Carlton E. Brown, a new honorary member of Phi Eta Sigma, said, “The chartering of Phi Eta Sigma at Clark Atlanta University creates an opportunity for recognizing promising scholars, as well as opportunities for student leadership and scholarship within the organization.  The induction ceremony was a public acknowledgement of our outstanding academic achievers, and we are proud to have such a large number of inductees.”

Along with President Brown, other CAU faculty members and administrators were inducted as honorary members: Lance Dunnings, general counsel; Dr. Carl Jones, vice president of Student Affairs; Dr. Christopher Bass, director of the Isabella T. Jenkins Honors Program; Donna Brock, executive director of Strategic Communications; Dr. Cynthia W. Auzenne Clem, executive director of the Center for Leadership, Academic and Student Success (CLASS); Dr. Isabella T. Jenkins, School of Education; Dr. Shafiq Khan, eminent scholar and executive director of the Center for Cancer Research and Therapeutic Development; Dr. Alicia Simon, School of Arts and Sciences; and Willie L. Todd Jr., School of Arts and Sciences.

For more information on Phi Eta Sigma, visit