Clark Atlanta University Learn Lead Change

Public Administration

    Department of Public Administration
    Oglethorpe Hall, Room 219

    Telephone: (404) 880-6650


The Public Administration Department was founded in 1975. The program has evolved from a general Master of Public Administration degree to a curriculum that offers five areas of specialization. The Department has held membership in the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration (NASPAA) since its inception.

In 1978, the curriculum was changed to conform to the standards adopted by NASPAA, which require MPA programs to establish a common core curriculum that all preservice students must take. Special areas were also created beginning with a specialization in urban management and the management of public finance. In the period between 1979 and 2002, specializations were added and deleted to reflect and embrace the changes in the discipline as well as the interest of the students. Currently, the Department offers five specialization areas in:

• Community and Economic Development
• Human Resources
• International Administration and Development Management
• Public Policy
• Urban Administration